My natural hair journey…

So, let me first say that I am not putting anyone down for having relaxed/permed hair. I have come into my own understanding as to why I went natural. Hopefully, it will inspire you in any way you see fit.

I chopped my hair off in December 2005. I was away at college and didn’t really trust anyone to perm my but my mother. She had been giving me perms since I was about 3 or 4. She had gone to cosmetology school so I figured she knew what she was doing. 🙂 So there I was a college freshman with micros in my hair for about 3 months. When I was home for Thanksgiving break I decided to take down the braids. I wasn’t quite sure of what I wanted to do yet but getting locs was in the back of my mind. I liked the way they looked and went for it. I had about 2-3 inches of new growth by that time. My mom knew a lady who could start them out for me. I went to her house and got them done. It looked really nice. This was something I knew I could keep up! I am a big fan of not doing anything stylish with my hair. The less maintenance needed, the better. She cut most of my permed ends off, which was a little frightening.

By the time Christmas break had rolled around I was back home for a couple of days before leaving for a Christian conference in Atlanta. I remember being self conscious because of my hairstyle but when I landed in the ATL, I saw plenty of brothas and sistas rockin them so it made me feel better.

Before I left to go back to school in January, I wasn’t really feeling the locs anymore. My mom, who wears her hair in a short natural ‘fro, asked me if I wanted her to cut it all off. I said why not and let her chop it off. I felt relieved. I felt great. I felt free, lol. No longer would I have to deal with my hair on a daily basis. At that time, I knew little about how to take care of my natural hair. I just wet it and put gel in it. I shampooed and conditioned whenever I felt the need.

People were shocked that I had done it. Prior to going natural, my hair had been to my shoulders. And that’s only because I dyed it and did not take care of it. The color had done damage and broke off majority of my hair. But my hair has always been long and healthy because my mom had always been my hairdresser, haha.

Fast forward to June 2008. I should have done my research on different hair dye and how it would effect my hair texture, which is about 4 a/b. My hairdresser and I picked a dark purple and it looked good. Unfortunately it changed my hair pattern into about a 3. It was curly and cute. The bad thing was it felt like a texturizer, which I did not like at all. Although it was easier to blow dry and flat iron, I knew I would probably have to cut it to get my original texture back. My hair had grown a lot. A couple of inches below the nape of my neck. So in September 2008, I was away at school again. The weather would be like 70 degrees at 9 in the morning. And by the time I thought I had a decent hairstyle, it would look a hot mess. I decided to cut it all off myself. I went to Wal-mart and bought a nice pair oc clippers and chopped it off.

It was wonderful! Lol. I’ve been looking at natural hair care sites. They are a great help when it comes to product reviews and hairstyles, as well as youtube. I have also tried to keep a journey of it through pics on fotki. Go check it out! http://public.fotki.com/NaturallyGifted86/. If you have any questions, let me know. I’m happy to answer any questions.

Peace,

Sharday

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

