Free My Mind

     A lot has been going on in my life in terms of remembering who I am as a person. Many of us go through stages of our lives where we are on automatic. We wake up, go to work/school, come home, study/clean/cook/take care of family/pay bills…..Just to do it all over again the next day. Do we take time to breathe anymore? Do we ever just sit and rest without having on the television. How many of us enjoy the small things or have a hobby outside of day to day responsibilities? Its time to go back to your roots! I don’t mean look into your genealogy—unless you want to lol, but I want you to simply think of what makes you, you. Any and all characteristics that come to mind.

     When I was around 13, I wrote a list one day composed of who I thought I was and this is what it looked like (in no particular order):

                        Daughter         Sister               Friend              Cousin

      Well, that’s great. I dug a little more and this is what I came up with (in no particular order as well):

                        Christ-Like Responsible Loyal Confidant True Humble Giving Trustworthy Forgiving Progressive Youthful Leader Loving Beautiful Teacher Artistic/Crafty Chef Optimistic Worker Dependable

     I am always adding to my list. It serves as a reminder for me not to forget who God has made me to be. I have come to realize that everything I have grown through and experienced has made me who I am today and only prepares me for what God has in store for my life!

Leave a Reply

