Free My Mind

I was braiding my hair last week and my mind started to wander, haha. I tend to do that when styling my locks. Anywho, I thought about why I waited to transition to my natural hair in high school. I didn’t like being there so why try to impress those I did not care for? I guess that could be a factor. Maybe I was afraid of how I would be perceived. High school isn’t the most supportive environment to show your individual and creative style. I think since I felt like I didn’t belong, I didn’t want to take any steps in the direction of furthering my outcastation. I don’t think outcastation a word but its my blog so ha! I almost wish I had the guts to do it anyway, regardless of how it would make others treat me. At that time, I don’t think I had high self-esteem. Now I know you have to have respect for yourself before expecting others to respect you. My mother has always taught me that you have to teach people how to treat you. I believe that is totally true. Or else, you will be stepped over and taken advantage of.

I think growing and maturing takes time. You learn with each experience and keep it pushing. I ❤ my hair! No matter what anyone tells me, I’m not going to chemically straighten it ever again. You can not let the opinions of others hold you back from what you want to do, whether it’s transitioning to natural hair, going to college, or trying to go higher on the corporate ladder. You never know who might benefit from your personal success. And yes, that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!

                Sharday

Leave a Reply

